Kensington and Chelsea second home council tax

Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea's own website records a 100% second homes premium from not stated (1-year notice rule; earliest 2027-04-01 if determined in 2026). It was not being charged at 6 October 2025.

£1,667

Average Band D council tax in Kensington and Chelsea, 2026/27, including county, police, fire and average parish precepts.

£3,333

Band D as a second home with the 100% premium.

7,898

homes classed as second homes on Kensington and Chelsea's tax base at October 2025; 0 paying the premium.

Second home bill by band in Kensington and Chelsea (2026/27 estimate)

BandNormal billAs a second home
A£1,111£2,222
B£1,296£2,593
C£1,481£2,963
D£1,667£3,333
E£2,037£4,074
F£2,407£4,815
G£2,778£5,556
H£3,333£6,667

Estimated from the council's average Band D. Your parish precept changes the figure slightly. The Kensington and Chelsea council element (including parish) rose 5.0% from 2025/26 to 2026/27.

Council decision we checked: announced in 2026-27 council tax guide (from not stated (1-year notice rule; earliest 2027-04-01 if determined in 2026)). Council source · checked 28 September 2026

Empty homes premium in Kensington and Chelsea

Kensington and Chelsea charged an empty homes premium at October 2025 on 1,411 long-term empty homes. Premium rates recorded by MHCLG:

Empty forPremium
1–2 yearsNot reported separately
2–5 years100%
5–10 years200%
10 years +300%

Holiday lets on business rates in Kensington and Chelsea

The 2026 business rates list has 15 self-catering holiday lets in Kensington and Chelsea, with a median rateable value of £125,000; 20% have a rateable value of £12,000 or less. A holiday let pays business rates instead of council tax if it was available to let for at least 140 nights and actually let for at least 70 nights in the last 12 months.

Exceptions you can apply for

The premium should not apply if the home falls in a national exception class, for example: an annexe (Class F), actively marketed for sale or let (Classes G and H, up to 12 months), recently granted probate (Class I, up to 12 months), a job-related home (Class J), or a seasonal home that planning rules stop being used as a main home (Class L). Apply to Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea with evidence. All exception classes and rules.

If the property is let to a tenant as their main home, it is not a second home. For landlord duties in Kensington and Chelsea, see licensing in Kensington and Chelsea and the landlord database (your region: London, register by 14 October 2027).

Question about a property in Kensington and Chelsea?

We may refer legal matters to an SRA-regulated solicitor and may receive a referral fee; we will tell you before any referral. See how we make money.

Check a postcode

Licensing, database deadline, EPC and council tax for one address: postcode check.

Related guides

Sources

Data: MHCLG Council Tax levels 2026-27 (Table 10); Council Taxbase 2025 (at 6 October 2025); VOA 2026 rating list. Premium status as at those dates plus the council page shown; confirm the current position with Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea.

Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Official pages change; follow the source link before you act.