Kensington and Chelsea landlord licensing: licensing schemes, fees and enforcement

Kensington and Chelsea has one discretionary licensing scheme on our record: additional HMO licensing (in force). Mandatory HMO licensing applies everywhere in England to HMOs with 5 or more people in 2 or more households.

Selective: none foundAdditional HMO: yesMandatory HMO: alwaysChecked 28 Sep 2026

Free. Official data only. We don't store your postcode.

Kensington and Chelsea licensing schemes in force or approved

Additional HMO licensing · Additional HMO licensing

In force
Area coveredWhole council area
Designation made19 Oct 2022
Runs1 Jun 2023 to 31 May 2028
Fee£1,493 (Part A £1,004 + Part B £489)
up to 5 units, +£72 per additional room; fees from 1 Apr 2026 (same for mandatory)
Discounts£200 accredited (LLAS/NRLA etc); £30 each when 3+ applications same landlord/agent; none if found unlicensed

Details read from the council website via a summary tool because the page blocks automated reading. Please confirm on the council page.

Note from our check: designation_made = leadership decision date per page

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Upcoming: consultations and key dates in Kensington and Chelsea

DateWhatSchemeSource
31 May 2028
estimated (start + 5 years)
in 611 days
scheme endAdditional HMO licensingcouncil

Want a reminder before a deadline? Use the form at the bottom of this page and pick "Email me before my deadlines".

Mandatory HMO licensing in Kensington and Chelsea

Whatever the local schemes, a licence is required for any house in multiple occupation let to 5 or more people forming 2 or more households who share a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. This rule is national and has applied since 1 October 2018. Letting without a required licence is a criminal offence under section 72 of the Housing Act 2004. Read do I need an HMO licence? and how to apply.

Kensington and Chelsea HMO licence register

The council's public register of licensed properties: Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea public register. Use it to check whether a property already holds a licence, for example before you buy. Licences do not transfer to a new owner.

Kensington and Chelsea Article 4 and HMO planning rules

Kensington and Chelsea publishes Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, but none of its 84 published areas are labelled as an HMO direction. That does not prove there is no HMO Article 4 direction: check the council's planning pages.

Licensing and planning are separate. A licence does not give planning permission, and planning permission does not replace a licence. See Article 4 and HMOs.

Tribunal record: rent repayment orders and civil penalties in Kensington and Chelsea

Figures below count First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) decisions published on GOV.UK for properties located in Kensington and Chelsea. They show how tenants and the council use enforcement here. Most civil penalties are paid without appeal, so they never reach the tribunal.

Rent repayment order decisions5 (2 in the last 3 years)
Orders made5 (100% of decisions with a known outcome)
Median award£7,546 (last 3 years: £10,575)
Total awarded£52,364
Civil penalty appeals2
Penalty upheld (in full or reduced)0% · confirmed in full 0%
Median penalty: council's notice / after tribunal£13,000 / —
Other Housing Act appeals (licence terms, notices, orders)1

Recent rent repayment order decisions in Kensington and Chelsea

DecidedAreaPropertyOffence allegedOutcomeAmountDecision
15 Mar 2026W11HMOunlicensed HMOOrder made£13,603GOV.UK
5 Jun 2025W11HMOunlicensed HMOOrder made£7,546GOV.UK
11 Apr 2023W10HMOunlicensed HMOOrder made£3,750GOV.UK
3 Oct 2022W14House / not statedunlawful eviction / harassmentSee decision—GOV.UK
12 Oct 2018SW10House / not statedunlicensed HMO; unlawful eviction / harassmentOrder made£2,300GOV.UK

Recent civil penalty appeals in Kensington and Chelsea

DecidedAreaOffenceOutcomeCouncil's penaltyAfter tribunalDecision
14 Apr 2026W8not extractedPenalty cancelled£20,000£0GOV.UK
26 Feb 2026W10unlicensed HMOPenalty cancelled£6,000£0GOV.UK

Amounts and outcomes are extracted automatically from the decision text and can be wrong; open the decision on GOV.UK for the full reasons. Party names are not shown. Information, not legal advice.

If you have let without a licence you needed, read unlicensed property: what to do, rent repayment orders and civil penalties.

Landlord database deadline for Kensington and Chelsea

Kensington and Chelsea is in the London region of the new Private Rented Sector Database. Registration opens 15 Jul 2027 and the deadline to register is 14 Oct 2027. The published fee is £65 per property per year. Database registration is separate from council licensing: you may need both. See register your rental property.

Get help with a Kensington and Chelsea licence application

We can prepare a licence application for you for a fixed fee; the council's own fee is separate. See pricing for what is included and how we make money. You can also run a full address check on the postcode checker.

Help with a Kensington and Chelsea licence

We may refer legal matters to an SRA-regulated solicitor and may receive a referral fee; we will tell you before any referral. See how we make money.

Kensington and Chelsea licensing: common questions

Is there selective licensing in Kensington and Chelsea?

We found no selective licensing scheme on Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea's website as of 28 Sep 2026. Mandatory HMO licensing still applies to 5+ people in 2+ households. Confirm with the council.

How much is an HMO licence in Kensington and Chelsea?

Additional HMO licensing: £1,493 (up to 5 units, +£72 per additional room; fees from 1 Apr 2026 (same for mandatory)). Fees for mandatory HMO licences are set by the council and published on its fees page.

Does Kensington and Chelsea have an Article 4 direction for HMOs?

Kensington and Chelsea publishes Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, but none of its 84 published areas are labelled as an HMO direction. That does not prove there is no HMO Article 4 direction: check the council's planning pages.

Where is the Kensington and Chelsea HMO licence register?

The council publishes its public register of licences here: Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea register. Councils must keep a register of licences under section 232 of the Housing Act 2004.

How often do landlords in Kensington and Chelsea face rent repayment orders or fines?

The First-tier Tribunal has published 5 rent repayment order decisions for properties in Kensington and Chelsea (5 with an order made), median award £7,546, and 2 civil penalty appeals. Most penalties are never appealed, so the true number of fines is higher.

Related: selective licensing in England · additional HMO licensing · HMO licence cost · HMO rules · HMO hub

Sources

Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Licensing schemes change often; always confirm with the council before you act.