HMO licence Nottingham: licensing schemes, fees and enforcement

Nottingham has 2 discretionary licensing schemes on our record: additional HMO licensing (in force), selective licensing (in force). Mandatory HMO licensing applies everywhere in England to HMOs with 5 or more people in 2 or more households.

Selective: yesAdditional HMO: yesMandatory HMO: alwaysChecked 28 Sep 2026

Free. Official data only. We don't store your postcode.

Nottingham licensing schemes in force or approved

Additional HMO licensing · Additional Licensing Scheme 2024

In force
Area coveredPart of the council area
Fee(Part A £697 + Part B —)
Part A £697 (from 1 Apr 2026); Part B £910 or £1,483 by size (page lists several Part B values)

Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.

Note from our check: start/end dates not captured - todo

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Selective licensing · Selective Licensing 2023

In force
Area coveredPart of the council area
Designation made17 Jan 2023
Runs1 Dec 2023 to 30 Nov 2028

Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.

Note from our check: fees changed 1 Apr 2026 (amount not captured); council ArcGIS Selective_Licensing_Boundary layer 68

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Upcoming: consultations and key dates in Nottingham

DateWhatSchemeSource
30 Nov 2028
in 794 days
scheme endSelective licensingcouncil

Want a reminder before a deadline? Use the form at the bottom of this page and pick "Email me before my deadlines".

Mandatory HMO licensing in Nottingham

Whatever the local schemes, a licence is required for any house in multiple occupation let to 5 or more people forming 2 or more households who share a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. This rule is national and has applied since 1 October 2018. Letting without a required licence is a criminal offence under section 72 of the Housing Act 2004. Read do I need an HMO licence? and how to apply.

Nottingham HMO licence register

We did not find an online public register for Nottingham. Every council must keep one (Housing Act 2004, s.232) and make it available for inspection; ask the council's private sector housing team.

Nottingham Article 4 and HMO planning rules

Official planning data lists 1 HMO Article 4 area for Nottingham. Inside these areas, turning a family house (use class C3) into a small HMO (C4) needs planning permission.

HMO Article 4 areaIn effect fromDocument
Article 4 Direction Area: Houses in Multiple Occupation—view

Licensing and planning are separate. A licence does not give planning permission, and planning permission does not replace a licence. See Article 4 and HMOs.

Tribunal record: rent repayment orders and civil penalties in Nottingham

Figures below count First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) decisions published on GOV.UK for properties located in Nottingham. They show how tenants and the council use enforcement here. Most civil penalties are paid without appeal, so they never reach the tribunal.

Rent repayment order decisions60 (14 in the last 3 years)
Orders made48 (85.7% of decisions with a known outcome)
Median award£4,590 (last 3 years: £4,500)
Total awarded£286,232
Civil penalty appeals10
Penalty upheld (in full or reduced)77.8% · confirmed in full 22.2%
Median penalty: council's notice / after tribunal£3,680 / £6,727
Other Housing Act appeals (licence terms, notices, orders)13

Recent rent repayment order decisions in Nottingham

DecidedAreaPropertyOffence allegedOutcomeAmountDecision
4 Mar 2026NG7Roomunlicensed (selective licensing)Order made£1,966GOV.UK
24 Jan 2026NG2House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing)Order made£6,582GOV.UK
20 Jan 2026NG1Flatunlicensed (selective licensing)Order made£4,500GOV.UK
27 Nov 2025NG9House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing)Order made£1,424GOV.UK
9 Oct 2025NG7House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing); unlawful eviction / harassmentOrder made£6,525GOV.UK

Recent civil penalty appeals in Nottingham

DecidedAreaOffenceOutcomeCouncil's penaltyAfter tribunalDecision
10 Jun 2024NG7unlicensed (selective licensing)See decision——GOV.UK
22 Feb 2024NG7unlicensed (selective licensing); failure to comply with improvement noticePenalty varied£6,000£10,960GOV.UK
8 Feb 2024NG7unlicensed HMO; unlawful eviction / harassmentPenalty cancelled—£0GOV.UK
13 Jan 2023NG1unlicensed (selective licensing); failure to comply with improvement noticePenalty cancelled£2,880£0GOV.UK
4 Oct 2022NG6unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty varied£890£1,971GOV.UK
13 Jun 2022NG7unlicensed (selective licensing)See decision£3,680—GOV.UK
11 Jun 2020NG6failure to comply with improvement noticePenalty varied£4,500—GOV.UK
9 Jun 2020NG7unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty varied£7,241£5,903GOV.UK

Amounts and outcomes are extracted automatically from the decision text and can be wrong; open the decision on GOV.UK for the full reasons. Party names are not shown. Information, not legal advice.

If you have let without a licence you needed, read unlicensed property: what to do, rent repayment orders and civil penalties.

Landlord database deadline for Nottingham

Nottingham is in the East Midlands region of the new Private Rented Sector Database. Registration opens 15 Feb 2027 and the deadline to register is 14 May 2027. The published fee is £65 per property per year. Database registration is separate from council licensing: you may need both. See register your rental property.

Get help with a Nottingham licence application

We can prepare a licence application for you for a fixed fee; the council's own fee is separate. See pricing for what is included and how we make money. You can also run a full address check on the postcode checker.

Help with a Nottingham licence

We may refer legal matters to an SRA-regulated solicitor and may receive a referral fee; we will tell you before any referral. See how we make money.

Nottingham licensing: common questions

Is there selective licensing in Nottingham?

Yes. Selective Licensing 2023: in force until 30 Nov 2028 (part of the area). Check the council's map or address checker to confirm your street.

How much is an HMO licence in Nottingham?

We did not find a published fee on the council pages we checked. Mandatory HMO licence fees are set by each council, usually in two parts (application and grant). See the council page or our HMO licence cost guide.

Does Nottingham have an Article 4 direction for HMOs?

Official planning data lists 1 HMO Article 4 area for Nottingham. Inside these areas, turning a family house (use class C3) into a small HMO (C4) needs planning permission.

How often do landlords in Nottingham face rent repayment orders or fines?

The First-tier Tribunal has published 60 rent repayment order decisions for properties in Nottingham (48 with an order made), median award £4,590, and 10 civil penalty appeals. Most penalties are never appealed, so the true number of fines is higher.

Related: selective licensing in England · additional HMO licensing · HMO licence cost · HMO rules · HMO hub

Sources

Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Licensing schemes change often; always confirm with the council before you act.