Additional HMO licensing · Additional HMO licensing 2022
In force | Area covered | Whole council area |
| Runs | 5 Apr 2022 to 4 Apr 2027 |
| Fee | £2,500 (Part A £1,250 + Part B £1,250) £250+£250 per lettable unit (5 units shown) |
| Discounts | Part 2 £150/unit for accredited landlords; eligible charity & portfolio (15+ units) discounts |
Council licensing page Public register
Note from our check: s257 not licensed under additional scheme (selective designation footnote); no renewal consultation seen on council pages
Checked 28 Sept 2026.
Selective licensing · Designation 1
In force | Area covered | Listed wards only (6 wards) |
| Designation made | 8 Mar 2023 |
| Runs | 1 Jul 2024 to 1 Jul 2029 |
| Fee | £640 (Part A £160 + Part B £480) per property |
| Discounts | early application, accredited, eligible charity (off 2nd payment; amounts not stated) |
Wards in the scheme (6)
Brockley · Catford South · Lewisham Central · New Cross · Perry Vale · Rushey Green
Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.
Council licensing page Designation notice Public register
Note from our check: pre-2022 ward boundaries -> ONSPD 2021 ward field; Telegraph Hill & parts of Blackheath excluded
Checked 28 Sept 2026.
Selective licensing · Designation 2
In force | Area covered | Listed wards only (5 wards) |
| Designation made | 8 Mar 2023 |
| Runs | 1 Jul 2024 to 1 Jul 2029 |
| Fee | £640 (Part A £160 + Part B £480) per property |
| Discounts | early application, accredited, eligible charity (off 2nd payment; amounts not stated) |
Wards in the scheme (5)
Crofton Park · Evelyn · Ladywell · Lee Green · Sydenham
Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.
Council licensing page Designation notice Public register
Note from our check: pre-2022 ward boundaries -> ONSPD 2021 ward field; Telegraph Hill & parts of Blackheath excluded
Checked 28 Sept 2026.
Selective licensing · Designation 3
In force | Area covered | Listed wards only (5 wards) |
| Designation made | 8 Mar 2023 |
| Runs | 1 Jul 2024 to 1 Jul 2029 |
| Fee | £640 (Part A £160 + Part B £480) per property |
| Discounts | early application, accredited, eligible charity (off 2nd payment; amounts not stated) |
Wards in the scheme (5)
Bellingham · Downham · Forest Hill · Grove Park · Whitefoot
Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.
Council licensing page Designation notice Public register
Note from our check: pre-2022 ward boundaries -> ONSPD 2021 ward field; Telegraph Hill & parts of Blackheath excluded
Checked 28 Sept 2026.
Mandatory HMO licensing in Lewisham
Whatever the local schemes, a licence is required for any house in multiple occupation let to 5 or more people forming 2 or more households who share a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. This rule is national and has applied since 1 October 2018. Letting without a required licence is a criminal offence under section 72 of the Housing Act 2004. Read do I need an HMO licence? and how to apply.
Lewisham HMO licence register
The council's public register of licensed properties: London Borough of Lewisham public register. Use it to check whether a property already holds a licence, for example before you buy. Licences do not transfer to a new owner.
Lewisham Article 4 and HMO planning rules
Official planning data lists 2 HMO Article 4 areas for Lewisham. Inside these areas, turning a family house (use class C3) into a small HMO (C4) needs planning permission.
| HMO Article 4 area | In effect from | Document |
|---|
| Small HMO Northern Extension | — | view |
| Small Houses in Multiple Occupation Article 4 | — | view |
Licensing and planning are separate. A licence does not give planning permission, and planning permission does not replace a licence. See Article 4 and HMOs.
Tribunal record: rent repayment orders and civil penalties in Lewisham
Figures below count First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) decisions published on GOV.UK for properties located in Lewisham. They show how tenants and the council use enforcement here. Most civil penalties are paid without appeal, so they never reach the tribunal.
| Rent repayment order decisions | 29 (17 in the last 3 years) |
|---|
| Orders made | 25 (89.3% of decisions with a known outcome) |
|---|
| Median award | £9,957 (last 3 years: £11,005) |
|---|
| Total awarded | £237,024 |
|---|
| Civil penalty appeals | 2 |
|---|
| Penalty upheld (in full or reduced) | 50% · confirmed in full 0% |
|---|
| Median penalty: council's notice / after tribunal | £4,500 / £5,000 |
|---|
| Other Housing Act appeals (licence terms, notices, orders) | 5 |
|---|
Amounts and outcomes are extracted automatically from the decision text and can be wrong; open the decision on GOV.UK for the full reasons. Party names are not shown. Information, not legal advice.
If you have let without a licence you needed, read unlicensed property: what to do, rent repayment orders and civil penalties.
Landlord database deadline for Lewisham
Lewisham is in the London region of the new Private Rented Sector Database. Registration opens 15 Jul 2027 and the deadline to register is 14 Oct 2027. The published fee is £65 per property per year. Database registration is separate from council licensing: you may need both. See register your rental property.
Get help with a Lewisham licence application
We can prepare a licence application for you for a fixed fee; the council's own fee is separate. See pricing for what is included and how we make money. You can also run a full address check on the postcode checker.
Lewisham licensing: common questions
Is there selective licensing in Lewisham?
Yes. Designation 1: in force until 1 Jul 2029 (part of the area); Designation 2: in force until 1 Jul 2029 (part of the area); Designation 3: in force until 1 Jul 2029 (part of the area). Check the council's map or address checker to confirm your street.
How much is an HMO licence in Lewisham?
Additional HMO licensing: £2,500 (£250+£250 per lettable unit (5 units shown)); Selective licensing: £640 (per property); Selective licensing: £640 (per property); Selective licensing: £640 (per property). Fees for mandatory HMO licences are set by the council and published on its fees page.
Does Lewisham have an Article 4 direction for HMOs?
Official planning data lists 2 HMO Article 4 areas for Lewisham. Inside these areas, turning a family house (use class C3) into a small HMO (C4) needs planning permission.
Where is the Lewisham HMO licence register?
The council publishes its public register of licences here: London Borough of Lewisham register. Councils must keep a register of licences under section 232 of the Housing Act 2004.
How often do landlords in Lewisham face rent repayment orders or fines?
The First-tier Tribunal has published 29 rent repayment order decisions for properties in Lewisham (25 with an order made), median award £9,957, and 2 civil penalty appeals. Most penalties are never appealed, so the true number of fines is higher.
Related: selective licensing in England · additional HMO licensing · HMO licence cost · HMO rules · HMO hub
Sources
Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Licensing schemes change often; always confirm with the council before you act.